The art of marketing is constantly changing and evolving. However, there are certain marketing terms that every marketer, especially digital marketers, should be familiar with no matter their area of expertise.
A Marketing Terms
Comparing two variations of a single variable to figure out which performs better. This practice typically improves overall marketing efforts. This is typically done when conducting an outbound email campaign via variations in the subject line and/or basic copy. One can also engage in A/B testing with calls-to-action via variations in color or verbiage. Landing pages are another way to conduct A/B testing by means of varying the general content.
Analytics are the ‘eyes’ of inbound marketing. They are essentially the discovery and communication of meaningful patterns in data. In the context of marketing, analytics is the process of looking at data from various initiatives, analyzing trends & developing actionable insights to improve marketing decisions.
Application Programming Interface (API)
APIs are a series of rules in computer programming. They allow an application to extract information and use that information in their own applications. It’s kind of like a phone for applications to have conversations. An API literally “calls” one application and gets information to bring to you to use in your software. APIs facilitate the data needed to provide solutions to customer problems.
B Marketing Terms
An adjective used to describe companies that sell to other businesses. For example, Google and Oracle are primarily B2B companies.
An adjective used to describe companies that sell directly to consumers. For example, Amazon, Apple, and Nike are primarily B2C companies.
The common term for weblog or weblog. Typically involves an individual or group of people who contribute written posts to a larger collection. A blog will include posts ranging from commentary to descriptions of events, or other such material like photos and/or videos. Blogging is an essential component of inbound marketing since it can accomplish several goals at the same time. Goals such as increasing website traffic, thought leadership, and lead generation. Here are a few tips on how to create, maintain, and market a successful blog! If you’re really hungry for blog info, here are 5 tips on how to increase traffic to your blog!
Business blogging maintains all the characteristics of traditional blogging, but it adds a satisfying layer of marketing strategy on top. It helps marketers increase traffic to their website, convert traffic into leads, establish authority on certain topics, and drive long-term benefits.
When blogging for a business, marketers should create posts that are optimized with keywords that their target audience is searching for and provide helpful, educational material to these readers. Typically, these blog posts should be actionable (by providing an opt-in, downloadable offer), as to provide a metric for the effectiveness of the business blogging.
Bottom of the Funnel
Since we’re going alphabetically, the last part of the funnel process is first! So, “bottoms up,” I suppose. The bottom of the funnel refers to a stage of the buying process leads reach when they’re just about to close as new customers. They’ve identified a problem, have shopped around for possible solutions, and are very close to buying.
Typically, the next steps for leads at this stage are a call from a sales rep, a demo, or a free consultation — depending on what type of business is attempting to close the lead.
The bounce rate is the percentage of site visits that are single-page sessions. It is typically used as a measurement of a website’s overall engagement. Bounce rate and exit rate are both used as proxies for website engagement. However, there are subtle differences between the two metrics. Bounce rate measures the number of users who enter a website & exit without visiting any other page on the website. The exit rate measures the number of users who exit a website from a specific page.
Brand positioning is how you differentiate yourself apart from your competitors. Furthermore, this is how consumers identify and connect with your brand. Your brand position consists of the key qualities and values that define your company.
A buyer persona is a semi-fictional representation of your ideal customer based on market research and real data about your existing customers. While it helps marketers like you define their target audience, it can also help sales reps qualify leads. Here are 20 questions you should ask when defining your ideal buyer persona!
C Marketing Terms
A call to action (CTA) is an essential marketing term. It is a prompt on a website that tells the user to take some specified action. A call to action is typically written as a command, such as ‘Sign Up’ or ‘Buy Now’, and generally takes the form of a button or hyperlink. The call to action is a key element on a webpage, acting as a signpost that lets the user know what to do next. Without a clear CTA, the user may not know the next steps to take to purchase a product or sign up for a newsletter and is likely to leave the site without accomplishing their task.
CAN-SPAM stands for “Controlling the Assault of Non-Solicited Pornography and Marketing.” It’s a U.S. law passed in 2003 that establishes the rules for commercial email and commercial messages, it gives recipients the right to have a business stop emailing them, and outlines the penalties incurred for those who violate the law. For example, CAN-SPAM is the reason businesses are required to have an “unsubscribe” option at the bottom of every email.
Your churn rate is the number of customers or subscribers who cut ties with your service or company during a given time period. These customers have “churned.” The calculation of churn can be straightforward to start off with. Take the number of customers that you lost last quarter and divide that by the number of customers that you started with last quarter. The resulting percentage is your churn rate. As an example, a company that started last quarter with 100 customers and lost three over the course of the quarter would have a churn rate of 3%.
Clickthrough Rate (CTR)
The percentage of your audience that advances (or clicks through) from one part of your website to the next step of your marketing campaign. As a mathematics equation, it’s the total number of clicks that your page or CTA receives divided by the number of opportunities that people had to click (ex: number of page views, emails sent, and so on).
The practice of closed-loop marketing is being able to execute, track, and show how marketing efforts have impacted bottom-line business growth. An example would be tracking a website visitor as they become a lead to the very last touch point when they close as a customer.
When done correctly, you’d be able to see just how much of your marketing investment yielded new business growth. One of the biggest business benefits of implementing an inbound marketing strategy and utilizing inbound marketing software is the ability to execute closed-loop marketing.
A conversion path is a step-process intended to convert a website visitor into a lead, and customer. The first step of the conversion path is an initial content offer and call-to-action. When activated, the interested visitor is routed to a landing page that has a capture form requesting general visitor information in exchange for access to the actual offer. The visitor, now a lead after submitting the completed form, is taken to a “thank you” page where they receive the offer.
In relation to inbound marketing, content is a piece of information that exists for the purpose of being digested (not literally), engaged with, and shared. Content typically comes in the form of a blog, video, social media post, photo, slideshow, or podcast, although there are plenty of over types out there. From website traffic to lead conversion to customer marketing, content plays an indispensable role in a successful inbound marketing strategy.
Content marketing is a strategic marketing approach focused on creating and distributing valuable, relevant, and consistent content to attract and retain a clearly-defined audience — and, ultimately, to drive profitable customer action.
CMS (Content Management System)
A content management system is a type of software that helps users create, manage, and modify content on a website without the need for specialized technical knowledge. In plain language, a CMS is a tool that helps you build a website without needing to write all the code from scratch (or even know how to code at all). Instead of building your own system for creating web pages, storing images, and other functions, the content management system handles all that basic infrastructure stuff for you so that you can focus on more forward-facing parts of your website. Beyond websites, you can also find content management systems for other functions – like document management.
If content is king, then context is queen. Serving up valuable content is important. However, ensuring that it’s customized for the right audience is just as, if not more, important. As buyers become more in control of what information they consume, it’s important to deliver content that’s contextually relevant.
Conversion Rate Optimization
A conversion is a general term for a visitor to complete a site goal. Goals come in many shapes and sizes. If you use your website to sell products, the primary goal (known as the macro-conversion) is for the user to make a purchase. There are smaller conversions that can happen before a user completes a macro-conversion, such as signing up to receive emails. These are called micro-conversions. Conversion rate optimization (CRO) is the systematic process of increasing the percentage of website visitors who take the desired action. The CRO process involves understanding how users move through your site, what actions they take, and what’s stopping them from completing your goals.
The amount it costs your marketing organization to acquire a lead. This factors heavily into CAC (customer acquisition cost) and is a metric marketer should keep a keen eye on.
Customer Acquisition Cost
Basically, CAC can be calculated by simply dividing all the costs spent on acquiring more customers (marketing expenses) by the number of customers acquired in the period the money was spent. For example, if a company spent $100 on marketing in a year and acquired 100 customers in the same year, their CAC is $1.00.
Customer-Relationship Management (CRM)
Customer relationship management (CRM) refers to the principles, practices, and guidelines that an organization follows when interacting with its customers. From the organization’s point of view, this entire relationship encompasses direct interactions with customers, such as sales and service-related processes, and forecasting and analysis of customer trends and behaviors. Ultimately, CRM serves to enhance the customer’s overall experience.
Elements of CRM range from a company’s website and emails to mass mailings and telephone calls. Social media is one of the numerous ways companies adapt to trends that benefit their bottom line. The entire point of CRM is to build positive experiences with customers to keep them coming back so that a company can create a growing base of returning customers.
Increasingly, the term CRM is being used to refer to the technology systems companies can engage to manage their external interactions with customers at all points during the customer lifecycle, from discovery to education, purchase, and post-purchase.
Cascading Style Sheets (CSS)
Cascading style sheets are used to format the layout of Web pages. They can be used to define text styles, table sizes, and other aspects of Web pages that previously could only be defined in a page’s HTML.
CSS helps Web developers create a uniform look across several pages of a Web site. Instead of defining the style of each table and each block of text within a page’s HTML, commonly used styles need to be defined only once in a CSS document. Once the style is defined in the cascading style sheet, it can be used by any page that references the CSS file. Plus, CSS makes it easy to change styles across several pages at once. For example, a Web developer may want to increase the default text size from 10pt to 12pt for fifty pages of a Web site. If the pages all reference the same style sheet, the text size only needs to be changed on the style sheet and all the pages will show the larger text.
D Marketing Terms
A way to display different messaging on your website based on the information you already know about the visitor. For example, you could use Smart CTAs so that first-time visitors will see a personalized CTA (perhaps with a top-of-the-funnel offer) and those already in your database see a different CTA (maybe for content that offers a little more information about your product or service).
E Marketing Terms
An eBook is an electronic version of a print book. Users can read it on personal computers or an eBook reader. Users can purchase an eBook on diskette or CD, but the most popular method of getting an eBook is to purchase a downloadable file of the eBook (or other reading material) from a Web site (such as Barnes and Noble) to be read from the user’s computer or reading device. Generally, an eBook can be downloaded in five minutes or less.
An editorial calendar is like a road map for content creation. It shows you what kind of content to create, what topics to cover, which personas to target, and how often to publish. Maintaining an editorial calendar will keep you more organized and show you any gaps you may have in your content library. It also helps ensure you’re doing the right things for your personas and not going way off-track with the topics you’re covering.
Email, short for “electronic mail,” is one of the most widely used features of the Internet, along with the web. It allows you to send and receive messages to and from anyone with an email address, anywhere in the world. Email uses multiple protocols within the TCP/IP suite. SMTP is used to send messages, while the POP or IMAP protocols are used to retrieve messages from a mail server. When you configure an email account, you must define your email address, password, and the mail servers used to send and receive messages.
Fortunately, most webmail services configure your account automatically, so you only need to enter your email address and password. However, if you use an email client like Microsoft Outlook or Apple Mail, you may need to manually configure each account. Besides the email address and password, you may also have to enter the incoming and outgoing mail servers and enter the correct port numbers for each one.
A popular social media metric used to describe the amount of interaction — Likes, shares, comments — a piece of content receives. Interactions like these tell you that your messages are resonating with your fans and followers.
Evergreen content is content that is timeless. It continues to provide value no matter when a reader finds it. Readers will find this sort of content useful long after it was published originally. Evergreen content is typically timeless, valuable, definitive, high quality, and canonical. This style of posts is usually a content marketer’s most valuable tool because they provide massive SEO value.
F Marketing Terms
Odds are you’re already familiar with Facebook. It is a social network, but it much more than just a means to publish content and gain followers. Facebook provides a means to utilize awesome targeting options via its advertising platform. This allows business users to find and attract new customers to their landing pages. This in turn takes users one step closer to converting to the next step down the funnel.
However, even the best segmenting and targeting are useless unless you have great content. Even though Facebook is a core contributor to any marketing strategy, it shouldn’t be the only element in your marketing mix. If you focus your efforts solely on Facebook – or any larger social platform for that matter – you will only gain a small slice of the inbound marketing pie.
Coined in 2018, the flywheel represents a shift in how marketers understand success in regards to B2B marketing. The flywheel places customers at the center of a business and highlights each opportunity for repeat business through relationship building and customer engagement. The flywheel represents how you keep your customers coming back and how doing so leads to the success of your company.
The place your page visitors will supply information in exchange for your offer. It’s also how those visitors can convert into precious sales leads. As a best practice, only ask for information you need from your leads in order to effectively follow up with and/or qualify them. Jotform is a wicked easy drag-and-drop tool that makes creating forms a total breeze.
Any element of your website that is confusing, distracting, or causes stress for visitors, causing them to leave your page. Examples of friction-causing elements include dissonant colors, too much text, distracting website navigation menus, or landing page forms with too many fields.
G Marketing Terms
The application of growth hacking techniques to experiment with different channels and strategies frequently, optimizing their tests incrementally to determine how to best optimize their marketing spend. Check out this article on Growth Marketing from our friends at Galactic Fed!
H Marketing Terms
A hashtag is a type of metadata tag used on social networks such as Twitter and other microblogging services, allowing users to apply dynamic, user-generated tagging which makes it possible for others to easily find messages with a specific theme or content. Users create and use hashtags by placing the number sign or pound sign (#) usually in front of a word or un-spaced phrase in a message.
HTML (Hypertext Markup Language) is a text-based approach to describing how content contained within an HTML file is structured. This markup tells a web browser how to display the text, images, and other forms of multimedia on a webpage.
I Marketing Terms
Inbound marketing refers to marketing activities that draw visitors in. This is different from traditional methods where marketers go out to get prospects’ attention. It’s all about earning the attention of customers, making the company easy to find online, and drawing customers to the website by producing interesting, helpful content. By aligning the content you publish with your customer’s interests, you naturally attract inbound traffic that you can then convert, close, and delight over time.
An infographic is a collection of imagery, charts, and minimal text that gives an easy-to-understand overview of a topic. As in the example below, infographics use striking, engaging visuals to communicate information quickly and clearly.
J Marketing Terms
K Marketing Terms
Key Performance Indicator (KPI)
A keyword is a particular word or phrase that describes the contents of a Web page. Keywords are intended to act as shortcuts that sum up an entire page. Keywords form part of a Web page’s metadata and help search engines match a page with an appropriate search query. The role of keywords was once very central to the function of search engines. Search engines could crawl sites and, if the keywords were accurate, serve those sites up as search results. However, people began abusing the keyword metadata in an attempt to show up higher in searches, and even to rank in completely unrelated searches. For this reason, the importance of keywords in search engine optimization has been greatly reduced. Keywords are arguably still an important factor, but they are not the only factor in SEO.
L Marketing Terms
A landing page is a website page containing a form that is used for lead generation. This page revolves around a marketing offer, such as an ebook or a webinar, and serves to capture visitor information in exchange for the valuable offer. Landing pages are the gatekeepers of the conversion path and are what separates a website visitor from becoming a lead. A smart inbound marketer will create landing pages that appeal to different personae (plural for persona) at various stages of the buying process. A hefty endeavor no doubt, but one that pays off in spades.
Lead is a marketing term that describes a connection made with a potential customer or client. The goal of most online advertising is to generate leads, which may “lead” to sales or subscriptions for a company or organization. The process of creating leads on the Internet is called online lead generation. This can be accomplished by running ads through a service like Google AdWords or Bing Ads or by directly purchasing advertising space on other websites. Advertisers can choose to run either CPC (cost per click) or CPA (cost per action) ads, which can both generate leads. While CPA and CPL (cost per lead) are often used interchangeably, CPL specifically measures lead generations, rather than aggregate clicks or sales.
Sometimes referred to as “drip marketing,” lead nurturing is the practice of developing a series of communications (emails, social media messages, etc.) that seek to qualify a lead, keep it engaged, and gradually push it down the sales funnel. Inbound marketing is all about delivering valuable content to the right audience — and lead nurturing helps foster this by providing contextually relevant information to a lead during different stages of the buying lifecycle.
LinkedIn is a social networking site designed specifically for the business community. The goal of the site is to allow registered members to establish and document networks of people they know and trust professionally.
These divisions serve as a way to describe the relationship you have with your audience, and can generally be broken down into three stages: awareness, evaluation, and purchase. What’s important to understand about each of these stages is that not every piece of content you create is appropriate, depending on what stage your audience might fall in at that moment. That’s why dynamic content is so great — you can serve up content that’s appropriate for whatever stage that particular visitor is in.
Lifetime Value (LTV)
Life Time Value (LTV) is an estimate of the average revenue that a customer will generate throughout their lifespan. This ‘worth’ of a customer can help determine many economic decisions for a company including marketing budget, resources, profitability, and forecasting. It is a key metric in subscription-based business models, along with MRR (Monthly Recurring Revenue). Lifetime Value can be calculated in many ways. In the case of a subscription model, a simple method is to take the average monthly amount expected from each customer and divide it by your churn rate (the rate at which you lose customers each month). For example, if you charge $1,000 per month and your churn rate is 8% then your LTV for a new customer is (1,000/0.08) or $12,500.
A long-tail keyword is a very targeted search phrase that contains three or more words. It often contains a head term, which is a more generic search term, plus one or two additional words that refine the search term. Long-tail keywords are more specific, which means visitors that land on your website from a long-tail search term is more qualified, and consequently, more likely to convert.
M Marketing Terms
A cross between a landing page and a “regular” website. Microsites are used when marketers want to create a different online experience for their audience separate from their main website. These sites often have their own domain names and distinct visual branding.
Middle of the Funnel
When someone moves into the middle of your funnel, it means you’ve captured their attention. They know they have a problem that has to be solved, and now they’re trying to discover the best solution. The need for a future purchase commitment creeps up as they’re evaluation their options. While the top of the funnel is designed to educate a prospect, this is the stage where you want to show why your solutions, in particular, are the best fit.
Mobile marketing is a promotional activity designed for delivery to cell phones, smartphones, and other handheld devices. Some mobile marketing is similar to advertising delivered over other electronic channels such as text, graphic, and voice messages. SMS messaging is currently the most common delivery channel for mobile marketing. Search engine marketing is the second-most common channel, followed by display-based campaigns.
Every year people spend more and more time on their mobile devices and tablets, but many websites still aren’t designed to account for different screen sizes and load times. Mobile optimization takes a look at site design, site structure, page speed, and more to make sure you’re not inadvertently turning mobile visitors away.
Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR)
The amount of revenue a subscription-based business receives per month. Includes MRR gained by new accounts (net new), MRR gained from upsells (net positive), MRR lost from downsells (net negative), and MRR lost from cancellations (net loss).
N Marketing Terms
Native advertising is a type of advertising, mostly online, that matches the form and function of the platform upon which it appears. In many cases, it functions like an advertorial and manifests as a video, article or editorial. The word “native” refers to this coherence of the content with the other media that appear on the platform. Native advertising is produced by an advertiser with the specific intent to promote a product while matching form and style.
An important aspect of advertising, in general, is the net impression, which is a reasonable consumer’s understanding of an ad. The power of native advertising, however, is to inhibit a consumers’ ad recognition by blending the ad into the native content of the platform. This makes many consumers unaware they are looking at an ad, to begin with. The sponsored content on social media, like any other type of native advertising, can be difficult to be properly identified by the Federal Trade Commission because of the rather ambiguous nature. Native advertising frequently bypasses this net impression standard, which makes them problematic.
Net Promoter Score (NPS)
Net Promoter Score, or NPS, measures customer experience and predicts business growth. This proven metric transformed the business world and now provides the core measurement for customer experience management programs.
A news feed is an online feed full of news sources. On Facebook, the News Feed is the homepage of users’ accounts. They can see all the latest updates from their friends and accounts that they follow.
A no-follow link is used when a website does not want to pass search engine authority to another webpage. It tells search engine crawlers not to follow or pass credit to linked websites as a way to avoid association with spammy content or inadvertently violating webmaster guidelines. All major search engines recognize the no-follow attribute. Not all links are created equal, and a no-follow attribute helps avoid any foul play.
O Marketing Terms
An offering in marketing is the total offer to your customers. An offering is more than the product itself. It includes elements that represent additional value to your customers, such as availability, convenient delivery, or technical support.
On-page optimization refers to all measures that can be taken directly within the website in order to improve its position in the search rankings. Examples of this include measures to optimize the content or improve the meta description and title tags.
P Marketing Terms
A pageview (or pageview hit, page tracking hit) is an instance of a page being loaded (or reloaded) in a browser. Pageviews is a metric defined as the total number of pages viewed.
PPC stands for pay-per-click. It is model of internet marketing in which advertisers pay a fee each time one of their ads is clicked. Essentially, it’s a way of buying visits to your site, rather than attempting to “earn” those visits organically. Search engine advertising is one of the most popular forms of PPC. It allows advertisers to bid for ad placement in a search engine’s sponsored links when someone searches a keyword. For example, if we bid on the keyword “PPC software,” our ad might show up in the very top spot on the Google results page.
A product matrix is a chart that describes the various products a business offers. It also typically showcases the features that apply to each product. Product matrices typically assign each version of a product its own column along the top. The features included in each version listed in rows down the left-hand side.
Pinterest is a visual social network typically used by e-commerce marketers. Businesses and consumers alike use the website to post images and photos they like.
Q Marketing Terms
A marketing qualified lead (MQL) is a prospect already in your lead-tracking system. These prospects have expressed interest in buying your product. Upon fulfilling a set of standards, the lead then advances down the funnel.
A QR code (short for “quick response” code) is a type of barcode that contains a matrix of dots. It can be scanned using a QR scanner or a smartphone with built-in camera. Once scanned, software on the device converts the dots within the code into numbers or a string of characters. For example, scanning a QR code with your phone might open a URL in your phone’s web browser.
All QR codes have a square shape and include three square outlines in the bottom-left, top-left, and top-right corners. These square outlines define the orientation of the code. The dots within the QR code contain format and version information as well as the content itself.
R Marketing Terms
This is the practice of developing a website that adapts according to how someone is viewing it. Instead of building a separate, distinct website for each specific device, it could be viewed on, the site recognizes the device that your visitor is using. This makes websites appear optimized for screens of any dimension.
Return on Investment (ROI) is a performance measure used to evaluate the efficiency of an investment. ROI tries to directly measure the amount of return on a particular investment, relative to the investment’s cost. To calculate ROI, the benefit (or return) of an investment is divided by the cost of the investment. The result is expressed as a percentage or a ratio.
A retweet is simply a repost of another Twitter user’s tweet on your own profile. Like hashtags, retweets are a community-driven phenomenon.
S Marketing Terms
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
Search engine optimization is the practice of tailoring your content and website so it can potentially rank well on and draw inbound traffic from SERPs.
Snapchat is a mobile app and service for sharing photos, videos, and messages with other people. A Snapchat message is deleted once it is viewed. This makes the service ideal for sharing quick updates with friends without accumulating media or messages on your mobile device.
The Snapchat app is available for iOS and Android devices. Once you download and install the app, you can create an account and add friends. You can then take a “snap” and send it to one or more of the people on your friend’s list. You can also use Snapchat to send quick text messages that disappear once the recipient reads them.
Social media is a collection of Internet-based communities that allow users to interact with each other online. This includes web forums, wikis, and user-generated content (UGC) websites. However, the term is most often used to describe popular social networking websites.
Key Social Media Posts
- 15 Awesome Digital Marketing Blogs
- Effective Social Media Marketing Made Easy
- How to Use Social Media to Land a Job
- How to Increase Your Social Media Engagement Quickly
Social proof refers to a psychological phenomenon in which people seek direction from those around them to determine how they are supposed to act or think in a given situation. It’s like when you see a really long line outside a nightclub and assume that the club is really good. The idea is that if others are sharing something or following someone, it must be good.
Any software that is hosted by another company and stores your information in the cloud. Examples include, but are not limited to, HubSpot, Salesforce, IM clients, and project management applications.
T Marketing Terms
Top of Funnel
Sometimes called “TOFU”, top of the funnel refers to the very first stage of the buying process. Leads at this stage are just identifying a problem that they have and are looking for more information. An inbound marketer wants to create helpful content that helps potential customers identify and solve this problem.
For the sake of creativity, I’ll define Twitter in 280 characters or less…
“Twitter is a platform that allows users to share 280-character long messages publicly.”
U Marketing Terms
A person who visits a website more than once within a period of time. Marketers use this term in contrast with overall site visits to track the amount of traffic on their website. If one person visits a page 30 times, then that web page has one UV & 30 total site visits.
This is short for Uniform Resource Locator. I honestly didn’t know that before writing this definition. Basically, this is the address of a piece of information that can be found on the web. URLs are important for on-page SEO, as search engines scour the included text when mining for keywords. Search engines will reward you if the URL contains your keyword.
User Experience (UX)
The overall experience a customer has with a particular business. This ranges from their discovery and awareness of the brand all the way through their interaction, purchase, use &even advocacy of that brand. To deliver an excellent customer experience, you have to think like a customer, or better, think about being the customer.
V Marketing Terms
Viral content describes any sort of content that has become wildly popular across the web via sharing. Oftentimes, folks don’t know a piece they’re creating will be viral until it actually does. This is unfortunate if it’s particularly embarrassing.
W Marketing Terms
A website is a set of interconnected webpages, usually including a homepage, generally located on the same server. A person, group, or organization typically prepares and maintains a website. An inbound marketer should structure a website like a dynamic, multi-dimensional entity. This entity should accomplish three goals:
- Attract relevant website visitors
- Convert those visitors into leads
- Close those leads into customers
Otherwise, it’s just a brochure — and let’s be honest — could you really use another brochure? Anyways, here are 27 techniques to help drive more traffic to your website!
Word of Mouth (WoM)
The passing of information from person to person. Technically, the term refers to oral communication, but today it refers to online communication, as well. WOM marketing is inexpensive. However, it takes work and involves leveraging many components of inbound marketing.
A workflow is another way to describe a lead nurturing campaign. It’s a set of triggers and events that move a lead through the nurturing process. A workflow can also serve other purposes, such as adjust contact properties on a lead record based on certain conditions. It can also be beneficial via adding a contact record to a certain list. Regardless of how you use it, workflows can be a very powerful asset in an inbound marketing strategy.
X, Y & Z Marketing Terms
An XML sitemap is a file of code that lives on your web server. It lists all of the relevant URLs that are in the structure of your website. It’s kind of like a “floor plan” for the site. An XML sitemap is especially helpful whenever developers revise the site. It also helps search engine web crawlers determine the structure of the site so they can crawl it more intelligently. Sitemaps don’t guarantee that search engines will crawl all links. The same is true for crawling and indexing. However, a sitemap is still the best insurance for getting a search engine to learn about your entire site. It’s sort of like saying “Hey, Google — check out this fine website.”
YouTube is a video-sharing website on which users can upload, share, and view videos. Three former PayPal employees created YouTube in February 2005. In November 2006, Google Inc. purchased YouTube for $1.65 billion. Google now operates Youtube as a subsidiary.